DUI Penalties in Florida

November 6, 2014

After getting arrested for DUI, most people want to know what the worst case scenario will be if they are convicted. DUI outcomes will vary by case and by the judge, however, the Florida DUI Statutes lay out guidelines for the courts. Here is a summary of DUI penalties in Florida:

 

1st DUI Conviction:

  • A fine of no less than $500 or more than $1,000.

  • Imprisonment of no more than 6 months.

  • Probation of no more than 1 year.

  • Community service no less than 50 hours.

  • 10 day impound of vehicle.

  • 180 days to 1 year of driver's license suspension.

 

1st DUI Conviction with BAC above .15 or had Minor in Vehicle:

  • Fine of not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000.

  • Imprisonment of no more than 9 months.

  • No less than 6 months with ignition interlock device.

  • Probation of no more than 1 year.

  • Community service no less than 50 hours.

  • 10 day impound of vehicle.

  • 180 days to 1 year driver's license suspension.

 

2nd DUI Conviction:

  • A fine of no less than $1,000 or more than $2,000.

  • Imprisonment of no more than 9 months.

  • 1 year with an ignition interlock device at the convicted person's sole expense.

  • 180 days to 1 year suspension.

  • Note: If 2nd DUI conviction occurs within 5 years of prior conviction, the court must order:

    • Minimum 10 days imprisonment.

    • 30 day impoundment of vehicle.

    • 5 years driver's license suspension.

 

2nd DUI Conviction with BAC above .15 or had Minor in Vehicle:

  • Fine of no less than $2,000 or more than $4,000.

  • Imprisonment of no more than 12 months.

  • No less than 2 years with ignition interlock device

  • 180 days to 1 year suspension.

  • Note: If 2nd DUI conviction occurs within 5 years of prior conviction, the court must order:

    • Minimum 10 days imprisonment.

    • 30 day impoundment of vehicle.

    • 5 years driver's license suspension.

 

3rd DUI Conviction within 10 years of prior DUI Conviction:

  • Fine of no more than $5,000.

  • Imprisonment of no less than 30 days or more than 5 years.

  • 2 years with an ignition interlock device at the convicted person's sole expense.

  • Vehicle impoundment of 90 days.

  • 10 year driver's license suspension.

 

3rd DUI Conviction after 10 years of prior DUI Conviction:

  • Fine of no less than $2,000 or more than $5,000.

  • Imprisonment of no more than 12 months.

  • 2 years with an ignition interlock device at the convicted person's sole expense.

  • 180 days to 1 year driver's license suspension.

  • Note: If 3rd DUI with BAC above .15 or had minor in vehicle court must order:

    • Fine of no less than $4,000.

 

4th or Subsequent DUI Conviction:

  • Fine of no less than $2,000 or more than $5,000.

  • Imprisonment of no more than 5 years.

  • Permanent revocation of driver's license.

  • Note: If 4th or subsequent DUI with BAC above .15 or had minor in vehicle court must order:

    • Fine of no less than $4,000.

 

The Hebert Law Group has successfully defended hundreds of DUI cases in Florida. If you would like to consult with one of our knowledgeable attorneys regarding your DUI case call us today for a free, 1 hour consultation at 727-573-2622.

 

 

Please reload

Featured Posts

Should I Enter the Pretrial Intervention Program (PTI) in Florida?

February 27, 2015

1/6
Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Archive
Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2014 The Hebert Law Group P.A. 

 

The Hebert Law Group is located in Clearwater, Florida and serves clients in and around Tarpon Springs, Largo, Seminole, Clearwater, Belleair Beach, Indian Rocks Beach, Clearwater Beach, Safety Harbor, St. Petersburg and most of the Pinellas County and Hillsborough County areas.   

  • LinkedIn App Icon
  • Wix Facebook page
  • YouTube Classic
  • Wix Twitter page
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now